Header Ads

Six mining policies before PNG government, Himata says

THERE are six important mining policies to be approved by the National Executive Council, according to the Department of Mineral Policy and Geohazard Management.
Department secretary Shadrach Himata revealed that last Friday during the signing of  a memorandum of understanding between Government agencies and the Japanese International Cooperation Agency to improve mine waste management in the country.
He said the reviewed Mining Act (1992) was before Parliament.
The six policies include the Offshore Mining Policy, Involuntary  Resettlement Policy, Rehabilitation and Mines Closure Policy, Sustainable Development Policy, Geothermal Policy, Overall Mining Policy.
He said the six polices were going throught the Government vetting process.
“These six policies together with the Mining Act amendments are going thought the Government vetting process and approval,” he said.
“Once the Government passes the legislation and policies in terms of implementation, we will wait for a year before we can implement them.”
Powered by Blogger.